'Carson City' from The Great American Desert now available!

Photo by DP Muller

We are proud and excited to confirm that the new album from The Great American Desert is available worldwide for sale!  You can get vinyl copies from right here at our store or both vinyl and digital versions over on Bandcamp!

For those who enjoy many of the other digital retailers, pick one of the below e-tailers and get your listening on!


Stream the album:



Posted on June 27, 2012 and filed under The Great American Desert.

The Great American Desert's 'Carson City' now available for pre-order

The new album from Nebraskan singer songwriter Max Holmquist (The Great American Desert) is now available for pre-order via his new Bandcamp page!  Visit HERE or see below to stream/download the title track and pre-order the new vinyl or digital album.

As a bonus, any pre-orders for the vinyl LP will receive a limited CD copy of the album as well!  The CD is only for the pre-order and album release shows and will not be for resale.  Don't miss out on it.


Posted on June 6, 2012 and filed under Site News, The Great American Desert.

The Great American Desert to release 'Carson City' on June 26th, 2012

The Great American Desert - Carson City Album Cover

Yer Bird Records is very excited to be bringing news of our next release from Nebraska artist The Great American Desert!  The name is performing moniker of singer songwriter Max Holmquist who brings his incredible "Carson City" album to Yer Bird Records on June 26th, 2012.

You might remember Max Holmquist under his previous recording name "South of Lincoln" and he keeps his Nebraskan roots intact with his name change to The Great American Desert.  Information on the Artist, the album and it's release will be updated very soon but for now you can see the track listing on his album page and links to his social space via the artist page.  The album will be released in digital and vinyl formats so keep your eye on this space!

For now, listen to a one-take live demo from one of the album tracks "Whiteclay" below;


UPDATE: Hear the title track, Carson City song premiere as well as an interview with Max Holmquist over at Hear Nebraska!

Posted on May 14, 2012 and filed under Site News.

White Pines to release new EP 'Plume of Ash' on April 17th, 2012

Joseph Scott (White Pines) is set to release his EP Plume of Ash here on Yer Bird Records on April 17th, 2012!  Plume of Ash is a 5 song journey back into what has made White Pines one of our favourite artists - his unique blend of quiet acoustic style tracks melding into sonic soundscapes.  This release slips nicely in line with his previous full length The Falls (see here), see the EP track-listing below and look for more information in the next few days...and possibly...some new sounds.

White Pines - Plume of Ash

  1. Bluebird
  2. Bending In
  3. Plume of Ash
  4. Drowning
  5. Survive

Additionally, after saving the date for this release - you should be finding time to see White Pines play live.  Some new dates are below (we will update with more details on each shortly):

  • 4/5 - Stone Tavern in Kent, Ohio
  • 4/13 - Canton, Ohio
  • 4/22 - Beachland Ballroom in Cleveland, Ohio (opening for Lambchop!!)



Posted on March 27, 2012 and filed under Site News, White Pines.

Shot At The Dark presents: Tyler Butler

SHOT AT THE DARK - TYLER BUTLER from Shot at The Dark on Vimeo.


Tyler Butler performs his track "Plover" from the recently released Winter King album for the local Calgary video series 'Shot At The Dark' (visit).  Despite the cool and grey weather, it turned out to be a great experience and it even lent to overall vibe for the video. 

Thanks to Brock Mitchell over at Shot At The Dark for all his efforts on this session!


Posted on March 26, 2012 and filed under Tyler Butler, Video.